« Back to News

ACC adds two new Dioceses in South Africa; renames Second Province

Nov 23, 2015


Bishop Dominic Mdunyelwa (center) led the first of an expected three new jurisdictions into the ACC.

by John Omwake, editor of The Trinitarian

The diocesan map of the Republic of South Africa took on a radically different look following actions by the XXI Provincial Synod.

Synod delegates adopted canonical amendments that doubles the number of dioceses, from two to four, and sets the stage for the establishment of a separate province for South Africa, perhaps by 2019.

The action was taken following explosive growth in South Africa, which began in 2014 when a group consisting of 17 parishes, 17 clergy and some 5,000 members in the Kei region of Eastern Cape Province left the Anglican Church of Southern Africa (Anglican Communion) and joined the ACC. This year, another church body called the Ethiopian Catholic Church, which claims 10,000 members, acceded to and was received by the ACC. Another church body with several thousand members is expected to follow.

The new configuration is as follows:

  • The Anglican Diocese of Southern Africa: Provinces of the Free State, the North West and the Western Cape, and the Kei region of the Province of the Eastern Cape, along with the Kingdom of Lesotho.
  • The Diocese of Christ the Redeemer: Formerly the Diocese of the Eastern Cape and now a non-geographical diocese with ecclesiastical jurisdiction within the Province of the Eastern Cape with the exception of the Kei region, plus congregations elsewhere in South Africa.
  • The Diocese of the North East: Provinces of Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal, Limpopo and Mpumalanga, and the Kingdom of Swaziland.
  • The Diocese of Blessed Nehemiah Tile: a non-geographical diocese exercising authority in parishes, missions and other congregations within the Provinces of the Western Cape, Eastern Cape, the North West and Gauteng. This diocese consists of formerly Ethiopian Catholic congregations.

In other canonical actions involving ACC jurisdictions, the name of the ACC’s second province was changed from the Province of India to The Anglican Catholic Church in its Province of South Asia.  This reflects the multinational composition this province is expected to take in the years to come.

For the full story on this subject and others like it, see the upcoming issue of The Trinitarian.

Tagged: south africa, provincial synod, south asia